free web stats
Your free online newspaper for Merseyside...  

Read our Tracking & Cookie Usage Policy

Email | Latest edition | Archive | Terms & Conditions

Business Index Search




Latest Edition

Back to Archive

Please beware that this is an archived news page.

This page has been archived as a historical record only.


Some features and links on this page might no longer be functioning.

© 2000-2013

PCBT Photography

Southport Reporter® is the Registered Trade Mark of Patrick Trollope.

Get your Google PageRank

Southport Reporter®

Edition No. 201

Date:- 15 May 2005

Your news... Your words...

Email us your stories and news!

Report and photos Sally Devine
Saturday 30 April 2005

THE Sandgrounders finished the season in style at Harrogate winning 5 to 2.The destiny of the Nationwide North title went to the wire, both Droylsden and Southport needing a win to ensure the title for certain.

A large contingent of followers from Southport made the journey over the Pennines to Yorkshire and well outnumbered the opposition fans.

The game began with Harrogate pressing forward in search of an early goal, Dickinson having to make a succession of saves for the away side.The first goal came for Southport on 22 minutes, Steve Daly rose to head home a Carl Baker corner.Terry Fearns made it two ten minutes later, sweeping home a low shot to bring his total league goals for the season to 33.Sam McNutt fired in from the left with an acute close range shot to make it 3 - 0 to Southport at half time.With the news that Droylsden were losing the Yellows piled forward in numbers, Harrogate had little to offer being pushed back in their own half.
Steve Daly added to his score, the second making his hat trick, Harrogate got on the scoresheet courtesy of Sid Pickford giving away a penalty and Andy Brown headed in to make the scoreline slightly respectable but the day belonged to Southport FC, worthy champions who took the accolades of the supporters on the pitch as they were presented with the trophy.

An official presentation will took place at Haig Avenue Thursday 12 May 2005.

Pettinger; Dunning; Haran; Sturdy; Barnard; Krief; Wood; Philpott; Nogan; Holland; Smith.

SOUTHPORT:- Dickinson; Pickford; Kilbane; Fitzhenry; Fitzgerald; Baker; Price; Morley; McNutt; Daly; Fearns.

Email Us Your News Now