Southport Reporter (R) Bourder
Southport & Mersey Reporter - Mobile

Click on here to go to latest edition's main page.

  Search Edition Archive  

Visit our online shop...


Click on to go to our hub website.

Latest Edition   Archive   Shop   Email   Mersey Reporter
Please support our advertiser below...

For more recommended businesses click on here...

Weekly Edition - Published 13 June 2015


Local News Report - Mobile Page


Pride Award 2015 winners revealed

Cancer Services Team (one of the three team of the year winners)

STAFF and volunteers providing care at Southport and Ormskirk Hospital NHS Trust were recognised at the 7th Annual Trust Pride Awards. Nearly 450 staff, volunteers and guests attended the event at Southport Theatre and Convention Centre on Friday, 5 June 2015. Staff cast votes for colleagues in 12 of the 13 categories while patients and other members of the public were invited to vote in the Patients' Award.  Chief Executive Jonathan Parry said:- "The Pride Awards is a wonderful opportunity to celebrate the commitment, dedication and professionalism of our staff and volunteers. We received nearly 400 nominations which is a big vote in each other and by the people we care for."

The awards were sponsored by Hill Dickinson solicitors, Edge Hill University, The Learning Clinic, D A Languages Ltd, Alto Digital and Zen Office with support from La-De-Da Occasions, of Ormskirk, and Baker Lodge Studios, of Southport.

The shortlisted staff and volunteers were (with the winners highlighted in bold) were:-

Patients' Award

Catherine Andrew, Podiatrist

Cassandra Garner, HCA, Outpatients

Katie Mann, Physiotherapist

Team of the Year

A&E team (highly commended)

Cancer Services

Paediatric Diabetes team

Tarleton District Nursing team

Chief Executive's Award

Children's Community Nursing Outreach Team (highly commended)

Clair Gahan, EPR Manager

Chris Pilkington, Emergency Planning Liaison Support Officer and Volunteer Coordinator

Chair's Award (volunteers)

Ray and Jackie Hughes, reception desk SDGH

Volunteer Blood Bikes

Shirley Pendleton, Living Well

Doctor of the Year, Athmanatha Nauaswami, with Executive Medical Director Rob Gillies who made the award

Doctor of the Year

Dr Paddy McDonald (highly commended)

Dr Athmanatha Nauaswami

Dr Mohamed Soliman

Nurse/Midwife of the Year

Jo Sinnott-Johnson, District Nurse

Esther Lennon, Oncology Specialist Nurse

Gill Simpson, Dermatology Nurse

Health Care Assistant of the Year

Renata Dodd, GP Assessment Unit

Janet Ratcliffe, Spinal

Ken Killingbeck, Therapy Assistant at Southport Centre for Health and Well-being

Health Professional of the Year

Heather Duff, Clinical Therapy Manager

John Gwilliam, Antimicrobial Pharmacist

Caroline Holt, Senior Occupational Therapist

Support Worker of the Year

John Coates, Electrical Maintenance

Jackie Conway, Housekeeper

Aidan Potter, Porter

Administrative/Clerical Worker of the Year

Marie Hatton, PA to the Medical Director

Jan Stevenson, Ward Clerk, Paediatrics

Val Swain, PA to CERT

Patient Safety Award

Jane Davis, Staff Nurse, 7B

Staff Health and Wellbeing team

Yvonne Taylor, FESS

Safely Reducing Costs Award

Terry Kelly, Logistics Manager


Sarah Huyton, Finance

Leadership Award

Jeanette Abraham, ADO Planned Care

Jackie Brunton, Cancer Manager

Susan Gara, CERT Team Leader


News Report Page Quick Flick.

Click on here to go to the mobile menu page for this edition. News Report Page Quick Flick

Read this page.

Southport Reporter (R) Bourder




 RSS Our Weekly Headlines


(+44)  08443 244 195
Calls to this number may be recorded for security, broadcast, training and record keeping.

4a Post Office Ave, Southport, Merseyside, PR9 0US, UK


Click on to see our Twitter Feed.  Click on to see our Facebook Page.  Click on to follow our LinkedIn Profile. This website is licence to carry news from and UK Press Photography. 

This is our media complains system...

We are regulated by IMPRESS, the independent monitor for the UK's press.

How to make a complaint
Complaints Policy
Complaints Procedure
Whistle Blowing Policy


Southport Reporter® is the
Registered Trade Mark of Patrick Trollope