Southport Reporter (R) Bourder
Southport & Mersey Reporter - Mobile

Click on here to go to latest edition's main page.

  Search Edition Archive  

Visit our online shop...


Click on to go to our hub website.

Latest Edition   Archive   Shop   Email   Mersey Reporter
Please support our advertiser below...

For more recommended businesses click on here...

Weekly Edition - Publication date:- 2016-11-04

-en Southport & Mersey Reporter

Local News Report  - Mobile Page


Junior Lord Mayors to be sworn in

SOME of Liverpool's young people have been getting a taste of civic life when they where officially sworn in as Junior and Young Lord Mayors. The latest group are made up of 22 young people from primary, secondary and special schools in the City.

Each young person will spend a month shadowing Lord Mayor, Councillor Roz Gladden, at suitable events such as Remembrance Sunday, Civic Service, Freedom of the City celebrations through pensioners' parties and school assemblies.

It is the 7th time the scheme has been run, and all of the candidates had to give a speech explaining how they would promote the positive profile of the City of Liverpool and that of children and young people within the City

Lord Mayor, Councillor Roz Gladden, said:- "This is a great opportunity for our young people to become involved in civic events, find out what is happening in their City and see how democracy works.  I'm delighted that so many of our young people have shown an interest in civic life and will be more than happy to have them assisting me at events during my next few months as Lord Mayor. I am sure they will do a great job representing the young people of Liverpool over the coming year."

All 22 where sworn in at a special ceremony at the Town Hall, on Wednesday, 2 November 2016, in a special ceremony. The pupils and the schools who attend are:-


► Ruby Bains - St Hilda's High School.
► Anton Bibby ? Calderstones Science College.
► Ellen Boyland - St Hilda's High School.
► Eva Carroll - Notre Dame College.
► Alex Dunn - Broughton Hall High School.
► Harry Georiou - Sandfield Park School.
► Asal Hajimohamedi - Holly Lodge Girls' College.
► Janani Murugesh - Alder Hey Hospital Youth Forum .
► Leah Russell - Clarence High School.
► Morgan Soul - Bank View School.
► Abhijith Subramanian ? Calderstones Science College.
► Patrick Clarke ? SFX College.


► Ashli Ashcroft - Kirkdale St Lawrence Primary School.
► Olivia Cranney - Arnot St Mary Primary School.
► Mia Ferguson - Smithdown Primary School.
► Isabelle Fitzgerald - Middlefield Primary School.
► Freddie Hall - Longmoor Primary School.
► Azrah Ismail - Windsor Primary School.
► Finlay Kelleher - St Anne's Stanley Primary School.
► Scott Leath - Broadgreen Primary School.
► Holly Mallon - St Michael in the Hamlet Primary School.
► Barry Sheen ? Holy Name Primary School.
► Eva-Elizabeth Wood ? Alder Hey Hospital Youth Forum.
► Zac Wilde - Liverpool College.


News Report Page Quick Flick.

Click on here to go to the mobile menu page for this edition. News Report Page Quick Flick

Read this page.

Southport Reporter (R) Bourder




 RSS Our Weekly Headlines


(+44)  08443 244 195
Calls to this number may be recorded for security, broadcast, training and record keeping.

4a Post Office Ave, Southport, Merseyside, PR9 0US, UK


Click on to see our Twitter Feed.  Click on to see our Facebook Page.  Click on to follow our LinkedIn Profile. This website is licence to carry news from and UK Press Photography. 

This is our media complains system...

We are regulated by IMPRESS, the independent monitor for the UK's press.

How to make a complaint
Complaints Policy
Complaints Procedure
Whistle Blowing Policy


Southport Reporter® is the
Registered Trade Mark of Patrick Trollope